It's a great story

Discussion in 'Feature this!' started by 327012_deleted, Jul 10, 2013.

1. On January 17th I was reading the February issue of Entrepreneur magazine (the paper version - I'm 58 and a real paper magazine still works for me!), and on page 29 is the article "Taking shape" about 3-D printing and Shapeways. As soon as I saw the pic of the 8 items featured, it was the "aha" moment..."I CAN CREATE A ROSE THIS WAY!". I've been creating artificial roses for over 15 years and it's what I do, it's my business: https://www.JustPaperRoses.com/Anniversary-Gifts

I signed up on Shapeways and immediately posted on the "3D modeler needed" forum and the first response was from Adam Mellotte of Inner-Leaf.com. I looked at his sample works and exchanged a few emails and then hired him for the job. I emailed him a picture of a real rose as a model (my avatar pic here on this forum), and we knew one way or another we wanted the customer to be able to personalize with text/words on the petals. After about 2 months of back and forth, we submitted the first unit for print at Shapeways on March 15.

The result? AMAZING!!! https://www.TheILoveYouRose.com So far we've sold 35 to our past customers and they love it. We're just beginning our advertising and marketing. Personally I believe it will be a million unit seller.

We had a few bumps with Shapeways, issues with "stepping" and orientation, but that's been worked out and our models are PERFECT!

An important note is that I am NOT a 3D designer nor experienced with 3D printing. I did go to college for Mechanical Engineering back in the day when CAD/CAM was in it's infancy. I'm an entrepreneur who creates and sells unique artificial flowers through my online business. So my view is Shapeways is now bringing 3D printing to the mainstream, because all it takes is for a person to have a creative idea, a vision of a 3D product and Shapeways can deliver.